BREAKING: 2023: Buhari orders Emefiele, Heads…

BREAKING: 2023: Buhari orders Emefiele, Heads…

The Government has directed serving in the cabinet, of government agencies, ambassadors and other political appointees with political ambitions in 2023 to resign from the government.

The , dated May 11, 2022, with Ref. No.SGF/OP/l/S.3/Xll/173, was issued by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha.

The circular was addressed to all serving ministers, Head of the Service of the Federation, National Adviser, Chairman, National Electoral Commission, , Central Bank of Federal Republic of Nigeria, Chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Commission, Chairman, and Financial Crimes Commission, Chairman, National Drug Enforcement , Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service and heads of -ministerial departments, Directors-/ Officers of parastatals, agencies and government-owned companies among others.

Mustapha said President Muhammadu had observed and noted the expression of interest and intention by some members of the Federal Executive , Heads of Extra-Ministerial departments, agencies, parastatals of government, ambassadors and other political holders to contest the upcoming , Gubernatorial, National and State Assemblies’ elections.

According to him, for running of the machinery of government and the country’s foreign missions, the affected ministers are to hand over to the Ministers of State where they exist or to the Permanent Secretary, where there is no Minister of State.

Ambassadors are to hand over to their Deputy Heads of Mission or the most Senior Foreign Service Officer in line with established practices.

“Similarly, Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Agencies and Parastatals are to hand over to the most senior Director/Officer as may be peculiar to the organisation, in line with the service wide Circular No. SGF.50/S. Il/C.2/268 of 4th December, 2017,” the circular said.

Mustapha added that the contents of the circular and the incidental directives take effect immediately.

DAILY POST recalls that the Central Bank of Federal Republic of Nigeria, CBN, Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele had filed a seeking enforcement of his right to contest the 2023 Presidential election without resigning from his position.

Emefiele had dragged the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and four others before a Federal High Court on Monday.

Meanwhile, four serving ministers under the President Buhari administration have resigned following the directive from their principal on Wednesday.

They are Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, Minister of State for Education, Rotimi Amaechi, Minister for Transport, Godswill Akpabio, Minister of Niger Affairs, and Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of science and technology.

The Ministers resigned after Buhari ordered members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) seeking elective offices to resign on or before Monday, May 16.

BREAKING: 2023: Buhari orders Emefiele, Heads of Agencies, Ambassadors, others to resign

Pegars is a media company that covers all news nationally and internationally. We have been trusted by millions of audience without any limitation on area of coverage. Thank you for trusting us and visiting our platform regularly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Enter Captcha Here :